Texting Goodbye

30 Apr

message

“I had a talk with BD today. I agreed to try two months of therapy together. I don’t know if it’ll do any good but I’m giving it a chance. I remember you said that there are no good or bad decisions, only the choices we make and life that follows. I wanted to say thank you for coming into my life at such a meaningful time, and teaching me to be open and trusting again, and reminding me just how happy I could be. Maybe we’ll meet again some day, but in the meantime I’m going to try hard not to call or text, so I can really figure out where things are going, even though I know it’ll be hard. I also just had to tell you that Baby finally figured out how to put the round peg in that bucket you got him. What a clever boy. Goodbye Skating Guy.”

“Remember that therapy is just the beginning and you will have to do all the really hard work on your own. Be strong and eat lots of tomatoes. Only you are in charge of your happiness. In every situation you can choose to be sad or to see the opportunity that the situation brings, and there is always an opportunity. If you look back at your life, you’ll see that everything that happened to you brought new opportunities along with it. You are stronger now, smarter, more beautiful, more aware. Happier. You have a wonderful, clever, happy boy. He’s a reflection of you. You’re a wonderful mother and I learned so much from you. Thank you. Goodbye Sweet.”

Leave a Reply

