Baby’s First Cold

10 Nov

It’s just a cold. My friends say I don’t even need to see a doctor for it. Little guy’s been sneezy for several days, and yesterday finally came down with a cold. Stuffy red nose, teary eyes, and very cranky and miserable.

I’m doing everything I’m supposed to do to make him feel better, but it’s just not enough. (Wow, there’s a returning motif huh?) I can’t bare it when he makes these miserable little wimpering noises, it just breaks my heart. I’m a terrible mother for having let this happen to him. I should have been more careful. I should have known better. I should have noticed that it was getting colder. I probably didn’t dress him warm enough. Or maybe I let him stay too long in the bath. And I left  the window a crack open becuase I thought fresh air would do him good…

Why is it that ever since I’ve become a mother I feel guilty just about all the time? It’s just a cold. He’s going to het over it. I know that. But when he cries, I cry, and it’s not just about the cold.

One Response to “Baby’s First Cold”

  1. Huggable Baker December 13, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    I wonder if it’s because you seem to be trying to fix things that are outside your control (i.e., he left and therefore I am to blame). And Mother’s Guilt is a real thing.
    When I get real down on myself I have a trick to stop my mind from going to the “Dark Place” where evil happens (you’re a bad Mom, you suck at your job, you’re a terrible cook…)
    Name everything you look at out loud: screen, laptop, pen, phone…. Your brain really cannot do 2 things at once. If you distract it, then sometimes the dark spiral goes away.

Leave a Reply

